Travel in Europe / Schengen area:


Even if you do not need a passport for border controls in the Schengen area, we strongly recommend that you always carry your passport or identity card with you to prove your identity if necessary (for example, if you are caught in a police checkpoint or if you are travelling by plane).

In Schengen countries, national rules may apply which require you to hold or carry certain papers and documents when you are in that country.

Driving licences, bank and credit cards are not recognised as valid travel documents or as proof of identity.


The following countries belong to the border-free Schengen area:

Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Czech Republic, Hungary


The following countries are not part of the Schengen area:

Bulgaria, Great Britain/Northern Ireland, Ireland, Croatia, Romania, Cyprus

When travelling to or from a non-Schengen country, you must present a valid identity card or passport. Before you travel, find out what documents you will need to enter the non-Schengen country you intend to visit.


Passport and visa requirements:

If you are a non-EU citizen visiting the EU or travelling within the EU, you need a passport that

is valid for at least three months after your planned departure from the EU country visited and has been issued within the last ten years.